News & Views

The Votes Are In

Every year a new board of directors for the chapter is voted in by Active members. The election ran from late November 19 to December 15, 2017, and the votes are in.

The chapter president for 2018 is Jeff Markowitz (pictured), author of the award-winning black comedy Death and White Diamonds. In his ballot statement, Markowitz said, "Fifteen years ago, knowing nothing about the craft or the business of crime fiction, I wrote my first mystery and became an Affiliate member of MWA. Two years later, I sold my second mystery and became an Active member. Whatever success I’ve achieved as a writer, I owe a debt of gratitude to MWA. During my time on the board, we have made efforts to more fully represent the needs of our diverse membership . . . . I look forward to building on those efforts."

New two-year board members are Ann Aptaker (Genuine Gold), Chapter President Emerita Laura K. Curtis (Mind Games), Chris Knopf (Back Lash), Erica Obey (The Curse of the Braddock Brides), and Charles Salzberg (Swann's Lake of Despair), and the new one-year board member is Tim Hall (Tie Died).

Leaving the board this year are Richie Narvaez and Andrew Peck. Remaining on the board for one more year are Scott Adlerberg and Joseph Goodrich.

The board of directors are volunteers who develop and run the chapter’s programs and events. You do not have to be on the board to help the chapter. The board is divided into committees, and they could always use more bodies and fresh ideas. if you're interest, please contact us.

Comments are closed.